obsession

Well, I haven’t posted here for the last couple of weeks: it will be a spotty summer–I leave in early July for vacation and then Siena. But, I’ve finished posts elsewhere. Several new posts on the Lollard Society page are the surface of many corrections and updates to the bibliographies. This is very satisfying. Bibliography is a great indulgence–not so sinful, but it allows you to obsess after a goal which you could potentially complete. It’s a bit like what I imagine collecting would be like (I don’t hanker after anything else but books, references to them, and how to use them). It’s helpful, for my knowledge and others’. I learn about subjects I would not otherwise know of. It’s also frustrating–not as creative as I’d like it to be: it enables me and others to generate knowledge, but it’s not itself new knowledge, writing, thought.

Blogging (so far, anyway) seems to be partway between writing new content and bibliography: I can make thoughts concrete, wrap words around the inchoate that are then owned, publicly. The best blogs I’ve read (some in the right column) present ideas that are full, but not finished. To say that a good blog wants interaction might be part of it, but a blog doesn’t insist on interaction like Facebook does. The readiness is all.

And so here, then, is a great new page to indulge in someone else’s bibliographical work.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Lang & Lit

Leave a Reply

